Well, it has been a crazy couple of weeks. A few hours after my last post I noticed that one of my guitars had cracked so I had to deal with that and take it in to a luthier (thanks Fred!) and I have had a relative in the hospital for the last week so things have been absolutely insane. Luckily things are starting to normalize and, as promised in my previous post here, I am including a quick video of my Nintendo DS Touchscreen prototype using an Arduino. Unfortunately the first few seconds of the video got wiped out, but all of the important bits are in there so I couldn’t be bothered to re-encode it😀.

Also, I didn’t want to devote an entire post to this, but as a quick side-note anyone who has any wooden instruments should use a humidifier to ensure that they do not get dried out and crack. I have had several guitars and a few violins over the last 16 years and I was never aware of this until I found a crack on the top of my guitar. It was recommended to me that whenever the furnace comes on in the house you should drop a small humidifier in your guitar case and refill it with water every 2 weeks or so until the spring/summer when the furnace shuts off. The luthier I saw also had a very badass piano in his living room with a humidification system that I found thoroughly interesting. The entire thing was electronically controlled and had status LEDs to indicate when it was time to replenish the water. I wanted to ask him how much systems like that sell for, and see how inexpensively I could replicate it, but didn’t want to bother him any more than I already had. Just goes to show that the practical applications of these sorts of projects are only limited by your imagination and creativity.

Cheers!