Well, I’ve neglected this blog for far too long now, and I figure it’s time for an update. A lot has happened in recent months. I landed my dream job designing industrial control systems, moved back to Hamilton and have been back at the ThinkHaus hackerspace. I have been taking the Penetration Testing With Backtrack course from Offensive Security and am enjoying the hell out of it! I have learned so much from this course it’s unreal, and it inspired me to set up my own home pentest network with custom vulnerable web-apps, programs and operating systems running on VMs. The eventual plan is to transfer these boxes to ThinkHaus and have a pentest lab we can VPN into for CTF fun.

Some of the more major things that I’ve been involved in lately (which I will post about seperately) include:

  1. Delivering the first ThinkHaus intro to Arduino course
  2. Writing working code, and figuring out how to decode the data from a HID RFID reader model: ProxPoint Plus 6800 w/ clock & data output
  3. Started designing a door controller for RFID access to ThinkHaus. Design is being carried out using a Rabbit RCM5600W microcontroller with an onboard web-server. The plan is to have a web-based admin console to control stand-alone door controllers and, eventually, to create a Master application that can act as one central administration point for a network of nodes. I’m also going to be rigging up an SD Card for logging and modifying the Rabbit FAT/SD libraries to allow me to use them with the 5000Core.
  4. Tomorrow I’m heading to my buddy’s place to rig his coffee maker up to a rabbit controller so that he can start it from work, or set it to turn on before his alarm goes off. Will post pics/code of the build.
  5. I’m sure I’ll think of stuff I forgot later and just post as it comes to me..😀

That’s all the time I have for now. Stay tuned for updated detailed posts about each of the above. I plan to release the slides I used to teach my course, the source code for Arduino to interface w/ the HID RFID reader and the rabbit code/schematics for our door controller once it’s done.

Cheers!